Sunday Conference 10.20.13

Sunday Conference with Diana...

October 20, 2013

Brief review of 1st and 2nd chakras - Muladhara and Svadisthana -

3rd Chakra – Manipura – Honor One Self.  Manipura is equivalent to Niyama (8 limbs).
Partially moving toward internal spirituality.

The first 3 chakras are basically the “external” chakras of our spirit energy.

Refer to pages 96 & 97 of Anatomy of the Spirit.  “Manipura” – Honor One Self.  
Summary of Organs, Mental and Emotional Issues, and Physical Dysfunctions attendant with Manipura.  It is yellow in color, its mantra is “ram” and it is the fire element.

Page 168- Discussion of the “two legs” (spiritual legs) – ability to stand up as an individual.
Manipura has but one spiritual goal:  to help us mature in our self-understanding and the relationship we have with ourselves and self respect.

Page 170 – Developing self-esteem – issues of life’s ups and downs; life’s “props” (the illusory aspects of physical assets and limitations).

Page 173 – “From an energy viewpoint, every choice that enhances our spirits strengthens our energy field; and the stronger our energy field, the fewer our connections to negative people and experiences.”

Pages 180-181 – Story of Evan.  “…the universe measures our success by how much we have learned …”  …”new cycles of learning are sometimes uncomfortable…”

This morning’s practice, we will focus on refining the bandhas.  Move with lightness and strength. ..pausing (to assess bandhas engagements)from down dogs to stepping or jumping forward.

Read Part II, Chapter 4 (Anahata)

Homework practice:
10 contractions of the bandhas with breath.
3x/day-Agni sara-3 rounds of 5 breaths each

 Weekly Message:
Sacred Truth: Honor One Self
Stand up as individuals...our spiritual legs...we become "ALIVE" inside
by becoming internally empowered

The following is taken from Brene Brown’s book, “Daring Greatly.”
The phrase ‘daring greatly’ is from Theodore Roosevelt’s speech. 
The speech, sometimes referred to as “The Man in the Arena,” was
delivered at the Sorbonne in Paris, France, on April 23, 1910.
This is the passage that made the speech famous:

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how
the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could
have done them better.

The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose
face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly;
who errs, who comes short again and again,

because there is no effect without error and shortcoming; but who
does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms,
The great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause;

who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement,
and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly …”

Sunday Conference 10.6

Sunday Conference with Diana...

October 6, 2013

Review:  We continue to study sustainability and transformation

Studying how to get the prana moving through our chakras – be aware of the quality of your breath (ayama).  Focus on equal inhalations and exhalations.

Breath training and the science of energy work.

Storytelling:  A new student who was intrigued by the concept of Moon Days.  Currently his 45-minute practice consists of Sun Salutations, 4-5 standing poses and then closing.  The student has focused more on his breath and less on the asanas to obtain the “perfect breaths” as he moves through his practice.

Refer to pages 96 & 97 of Anatomy of the Spirit.  
First chakra:  “Muladhara” – Root support – All is one.  Summary of Organs, Mental and Emotional Issues, and Physical Dysfunctions attendant with Muladhara.  It is the slowest spinning chakra, red in color, its mantra is “lam” and it is the earth element.

This morning’s practice, we will focus on perfect breath (ayama) and engaging mulabhanda.


Read Part II, Chapter 2 (Swadisthana)

Weekly Message:

A patient of Dr. Shealy once said to him, 
“Holding a grudge is like taking poison, and expecting it to kill the other person.”
~ C. Norman Shealy, M.D., Ph.D.

Diana’s favorite reference books: 
Reversing Heart Disease by Dean Ornish, M.D.
Healing Back Pain by John E. Sarno, M.D.
The Psoas Muscle by Liz Koch

Health & Aging Class for Seniors with May Yacoob

Join May Yacoob for her amazing Health & Aging Class for Seniors Mondays at 11am. 
Here is a quick 1 minute overview of her class. 

Please email us for more info:

The Energetics of Healing by Caroline Myss

Caroline Myss speaks on chakras and healing energy.  

We've posted The link to The Energetics of Healing-Volume 1 part 1 of 10 on our last blog post. 
Here is the link to The Energetics of Healing- Volume 2 part 1 of 10.

You will find parts 2-10 on the side of the video.

Sunday Conference 9.29

Our Sunday Conference with Diana...

September 29, 2013

Pay attention to your energy daily.  Where are you investing your energy?

Refer to YouTube for “Energetics of Healing” sessions with Caroline Myss:

Refer to the diagram on Page 55 on how you spend your energy.  If your energy is gone, from where do you replenish it?  You could “borrow” energy from your cells or other places.

Symbolic Insights:
1.     Life challenges as meaning (lower chakras);  where you lose your power;
2.     Ability to evaluate emotional and physical experiences;
3.     On a daily basis, evaluate your energy;
4.     Where are you “leaking” energy?  (Seven Sacred Truths);
5.     What (not who?) draws power from you?;
6.     Move through your wounds, and not LIVE in it.  Own it.

Seven Sacred Truths.  Overview of the parallel among Chakras, Sacrament and Tree of Life.

Koshas:  Moving from outside inward.  Annamaya (body); Pranamaya (breath, air); Manomaya (mind); Vijnamaya (wisdom); and Anandamaya (bliss).

Similar to the 8 limbs of Ashtanga Yoga:  External are the lower chakras; Internal are higher chakras.

1.     Muladhara – culture, tribal, familial;
2.     Swadhisthana – honor one another; friendships;
3.     Manipura – honor yourself; self esteem and respect; acknowledge the quality of the person you are;
4.     Anahata – authentic love
5.     Vishuda – self expression, surrender will power, spiritual stability;
6.     Ajna – seek only the truth,   ask “why” questions, evolve spiritually; and
7.     Sahasrara – Live in the present moment

Read Part II, Chapter 1

Our Weekly Message: